Two mods, one old client
Path of Diablo or Project Diablo 2
Path of Diablo is not a nickname for PD2. It is another mod that also wants a legitimate Diablo II and Lord of Destruction install. You pick one realm. Characters do not transfer. I could not find a current Path of Diablo season number on the homepage I checked, so this page does not invent one.
I took Path of Diablo’s numbers only from their own homepage: seasons of 4–5 months, more than five years of operation, 28 or more servers, global chat, a charm inventory, and a doubled stash. Those are one site’s claims. PD2’s homepage says six-month resets, while the PD2 wiki says 4–6 months. I am not averaging the two mods into one calendar.
What each site says about itself
No population column. Neither homepage gave me a number I could compare.
| Path of Diablo | Project Diablo 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Client | Classic D2 + LoD, per their site | Classic D2 + LoD, not Resurrected |
| Season length | 4–5 months, their wording | Homepage: 6 months. Wiki: planned 4–6. They disagree. |
| Current season name | Not on the homepage I opened | Season 14 Alliance, opened 23 October 2026 |
| Servers | 28 or more, their wording | Not stated as a count on the PD2 homepage |
| Notable systems | Global chat, charm inventory, doubled stash | Corruptions, maps, shared stash, guilds in Season 14 |
Who should bother
Choose Path of Diablo if their modifier list is the one you want and you accept that the season name was not on the homepage. Choose PD2 if you want the Season 14 patch, the map endgame, and this site’s install notes. Do not install both into one folder and expect either launcher to sort it out. Use two copies of the game if you insist on both.
Watch
FrankieFresh compares D2R and PD2. The install rule is still the official one: PD2 does not run on D2R. Upload date (YouTube metadata, single source): 2023-09-16. Choosing Sides: Diablo 2 Resurrected or Project Diablo 2? on YouTube. The player loads only after you press play.
Questions
Can I use my PD2 character on Path of Diablo?
No source I checked describes a shared ladder. Treat them as separate installs and separate accounts.
Which season is Path of Diablo in?
Not stated on the homepage checked 28 October 2026. I am leaving it blank.
Related
Sources
Checked: 2026-10-28. Single-source claims are attributed; disagreements stay visible.
- Path of Diablo homepage — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28. Single source: Path of Diablo self-description, including 4–5 month seasons and 28+ servers.
- Official homepage — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28. Official source family, shared with the wiki. Launch label is literally 10am PST; no verified local-time conversion.
- Wiki Seasons — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28. Single official-wiki source family for detailed numeric rules; separate wiki pages are not independent confirmation.