Nova, orb, combustion

Sorceress builds in Season 14

The Sorceress search splits in two: a leveling plan, and “lightning sorc runewords.” Hiim’s Season 14 solo list puts Nova, Frozen Orb, and Combustion in Top. The runeword half is a filter problem, not a single item name I can invent.

I checked JuxtAPoser’s Sorceress change video title and upload date, 18 October 2026, against the patch page. Static Field damage per cast changes from 25% to 8% of current life; the intended Hell damage limit remains 85%. I did not own a full lightning runeword shopping list, so that cell points at the runeword guide.

Hiim tiers

Cited clears are Hiim’s, mostly from earlier seasons. A fast Season 13 time is evidence they kept the tier, not a stopwatch from this week.

  • Top: Nova (Throne of Insanity 3:35, S13), Frozen Orb (Pandemonium Citadel 4:30, S12), Combustion (Throne of Insanity 2:47, S13).
  • Good: Charged Bolt, Chain Lightning, Frost Nova, Ice Barrage, Blizzard, Meteor, Multishot Enchantress, Thunder Storm.
  • Decent: Hydra, Inferno. Mid: Endless Hail. Utility: Red Portal Farmer.

Patch lines

Besides Static Field: Frost Nova synergy 7% to 8%. Blizzard’s Chilling Armor now deals area damage and uses Blizzard synergies. Hydra and Lesser Hydra projectiles are 25% faster. Meteor’s ground fire synergy moves to Inferno. Fire Wall and Blaze were buffed. Fire and Cold Enchant use mastery, and the Multiple Shot changes apply. Hiim is the secondary writeup of those lines.

Starter, budget and endgame choices

These are phase choices from Hiim’s public Season 14 Starter Builds (updated October 15) and Bossing Tier List (updated October 15), not a full equipment guide. Both pages are by the same author and count as one community source. Their tier tables do not publish item-by-item gear or a mercenary choice for every build; the missing values are explicitly marked. Verify skill allocation and equipment in the live planner before committing.

Single community source: Hiim Starter Builds and S14 Bossing Tier List, checked 2026-10-28. “Easy” is Hiim’s subjective T0 tier.
StageSkill/build choice and listed farmGearMercenary
Starter / campaignFirewall; starter listing tags Andariel.No item list verifiable from the public listing.Not stated.
Budget / first mapsMeteor; listed for Chaos, early maps, key farming and Uber Tristram.No verified budget set.Not stated.
Endgame / bossHiim S14 bossing: Meteor and Hydra are Easy for DClone and Rathma.Exact boss entry gear is not in the tier table.Not stated.
City of Ureh map in Project Diablo 2
City of Ureh map in Project Diablo 2. Source: Project Diablo 2 Wiki, CC BY-SA 4.0. Checked 2026-10-28. Image source
Demon Road map in Project Diablo 2
Demon Road map in Project Diablo 2. Source: Project Diablo 2 Wiki, CC BY-SA 4.0. Checked 2026-10-28. Image source

Watch

JuxtAPoser Sorceress changes in Season 14. Upload date (YouTube metadata, single source): 2026-10-18. Project Diablo 2 Season 14 - Sorc Changes on YouTube. The player loads only after you press play.

Questions

Which runewords does a lightning sorceress use while leveling?

The campaign list is on the leveling runeword page, built from early-game bases on the wiki, not from an endgame Nova video. Spirit, Stealth and Lore are runewords, not crafts; use the leveling runeword table for verified rune orders and base types. Spirit uses Tal–Thul–Ort–Amn; Lum belongs to Smoke’s Nef–Lum recipe. Check the exact allowed base before socketing.

Is Frozen Orb still good?

Hiim kept it in Top for Season 14, citing a Season 12 clear. That is their call, with the date on it.

Useful next steps

Related

Sources

Checked: 2026-10-28. Single-source claims are attributed; disagreements stay visible.

  • Hiim Starter Builds (updated 2026-10-15) — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28; single community author. Public listing names starter skills and farm tags but does not expose a complete gear/merc list.
  • Hiim Bossing Tier List (updated 2026-10-15) — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28; same author as starter/solo tiers, not independent confirmation. T0 is subjective entry-gear tier; gear details not present in extracted table.
  • Hiim solo tier list (updated 2026-10-25) — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28; page displays October 25, 2026. Single community source for every tier and cited clear time; earlier-season runs are not S14 benchmarks.
  • Wiki Patch: Season 14 — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28. Single official-wiki source family for detailed numeric rules; separate wiki pages are not independent confirmation.
  • Hiim Season 14 changes (page dated 2026-10-25) — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28; page displays October 25, 2026. Single community source for tier changes. Patch comparisons do not make tier judgments official.
  • Wiki Runewords — 2026-10-28 — Fetched 2026-10-28. Single official-wiki source family for detailed numeric rules; separate wiki pages are not independent confirmation.